Sync multiple Google Drive accounts at the same time

Syncdocs can sync multiple Google Drive accounts at the same time.

Why sync multiple Google Drive accounts simultaneously?

You might want to keep your work Google Apps for Business and personal Google Drive or Google Docs accounts separate.

If you are running a backup server, you might want to sync everyone on your Google Apps domain to the server, but keep their data synced to separate folders.

Perhaps you are a web-designer or consultant and work with various different customers at the same time, and need to keep their data in sync.

You might want to set one account to upload only as a backup, while the other performs a full backup sync.

If you are limited to 15GB per account, you might want extra accounts to get more free space.

How to sync many Google Drive accounts syncing at the same time

To setup multiple accounts for Google Drive in Syncdocs, do the following.

1. In the Preferences -> Account Tab there are two new buttons, marked “Make Shortcut” and “Use Now”

2. Select the other account you want to use.

4. “Use Now” button runs that other account concurrently when you press the button.

5. “Make shortcut” button makes a shortcut. This shortcut runs the other account. The shortcut is put on your desktop, but you can move it where you want. The shortcut is shown below. It is given the title of your gmail account (“syncdocs.test” in this case) so you can distinguish it.

You’ll see a different colored shortcut icon on the taskbar for this other account.

You can have as many accounts running concurrently as you wish.

Advanced features with multiple Google Drive accounts

Watch out for confusion with multiple accounts running at the same time.

Right click uploads are always the primary account

The context menu items that are shown when you right click on a file in Windows explorer (like “View in Google Docs” ) are linked to the first (main) instance of Syncdocs that is run. For example if you right click on a file and select “Share in Google Docs”, it will be shared from the first run Syncdocs account.

Identifying Google accounts

If you hover your cursor over the secondary taskbar icons it will show you the account name, and the name is also shown at the top of the menu in blue:

The name of the account is also shown at the top of the status menu:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *