power syncing

Selective Google Drive Sync

Why selective sync?

Selective sync allows you to select which folders to sync to Google Drive and Apps.

A  reason for selective syncing might be to save bandwidth or storage space.

For example you might have a main desktop PC and you want everything synced or backed up to Google Drive. You might have another netbook with much more limited storage and only want to sync work or a certain project folder with this netbook.

Selecting collections

Syncdocs now lets you select the folders (collections) you want to sync on each PC. You can check or uncheck the folders you want. The checked items (like “Contacts”) are synced, while the unchecked items (like “Videos”) are not.

Shared collections

Another use for selective syncing is to ignore the files others share with you on Google Drive and Docs. In the image above, collections others share with you are shown at the bottom of the list. Often you don’t want all these folders on every PC.

Accessing the selective sync menu in Syncdocs

To access the selective sync menu.

Right click on the Syncdocs taskbar icon, and select Preferences. Then in the folder tab, click the Select button

You’ll need Syncdocs version 1.23 or later for this feature.