Google Apps Permissions Synced Locally
Respecting Google Access Rights Locally
Starting with version 1.23 of Syncdocs, the permissions of Google Docs can be synced locally.
For example, say a colleague shares a file with you on Google Apps, but only gives you “can read” permissions. Syncdocs will create a local file with the same read-only permissions. You can’t edit it locally unless you make a copy.
This means that the access control requested by the owner of the document is honored by Syncdocs.
Why is this important?
The idea of syncing files is to create an exact mirror of what is on Google locally and vice versa. If you can’t edit the file online in Google Docs, then you shouldn’t be able to edit the same file locally in Microsoft Word.
How do permissions work?
If someone shares a file or folder with you on Google Docs with “can edit” or “is owner” options, then you can edit it.
If someone shares with “can view” or “can comment” then you cannot edit it.
But I want to edit a file locally
You have two options, make a copy, or turn off this Syncdocs feature.
Make a Copy
Most programs will prompt you to make a copy (Save As a different name) when you try to save. This copy will be synced to Google Docs. Here’s Word asking to save a copy.
Disable Permission Syncing
You can turn off permissions syncing in Syncdocs. It will try to sync the file. The file will not be synced until the original user gives you permissions to change it.
Google has help on owners, editors, viewers and commenter file permissions here