Been noticing many times that, when there is an updated version available, syncdocs prompts something like: "New version available, update now? Yes/No". If you click "NO" or "Later" the next message is something like "Sync docs will quit and be updated on next restart".
So, it is still updating when I select not to update!
Hopefully you can check this
Have a great day