More Control over Selecting what Syncs

Easy selection

Syncdocs lets you select what syncs in the selective sync menu.

You can also on select any folder on your PC or network to sync.

There are also options in the Preferences menu that allow one directional syncing, exclusion of network shares or exclusion of non-Google file types.

New selective sync features

How to exclude files in the root folder

A new feature of Syncdocs version 2 is the ability to ignore files that are in the top level (root) folder on Google Docs. Many times, you only want to sync certain folders on Google, to the exclusion of everything else. This option ignores files not in any folder, too.

Advanced file and folder exclusion

For advanced users, Syncdocs can be set to ignore specific file names or file types.

Note that doing this requires editing a settings xml file. You can break your Syncdocs if you destroy this settings file. If you do break the settings, you can repair Syncdocs, either by re-installing it, or by clicking on the “Default Settings” button in the Preferences.

To set which file types sync, first exit Syncdocs.

Then edit the settings file called appsettings.xml in the folder:

c:\Users\your_username\AppData\Roaming\Syncdocs\[email protected]\

and edit the section “FileAndFolderNamesToIgnore

Not syncing certain file or folder names

To ignore all files called “thumbs.db”, add  thumbs.db to the list:

<FileAndFolderNamesToIgnore>
<string>thumbs.db</string>
<string>.dropbox.cache</string>
</FileAndFolderNamesToIgnore>

Files or folders (collections) in this list will be ignored.

Not syncing certain file types

Syncdocs can also ignore certain extensions:

<ExtensionsToIgnore>
<string>.lnk</string>
<string>.LNK</string>
</ExtensionsToIgnore>

The above will ignore all .lnk and .LNK extensions.

Extensions are case sensitive.

Restart Syncdocs when done.

2 Responses to More Control over Selecting what Syncs

  • Thijs J. Aartsma says:

    Changes to the appsettings.xml file were not permanent in my case, so “Advanced file and folder exclusion” method did not work. It would be very useful to me. Any suggestions?

    • admin says:

      You need to exit Syncdocs before making the changes, otherwise they will not be permanent, as the program will re-write the file.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>